Principle Dates in Cowbridge Cricket

1840	Earliest known matches by team representing Cowbridge against Bridgend.		
1895	Present ground laid out by Alec Hearne (Kent) on behalf of Mr E H Ebsworth of Llandough Castle		
1896	(June) First match on ground, Elsworth's XI v Bridgend. Arthur Evans hits 24 off the first over		
1903	Glamorgan Gypsies CC use ground (until 1911)		
1904	W Russell, the professional, scores 138, 208, 71 and 155 in five innings		
1906	Cowbridge Wanders formed under captaincy of Rev Owen Jones, using school ground for home matches.		
1912	Cowbridge Wanders rent present ground at cost of £25 pa		
1913	Cowbridge Cricket Club formed as part of Cowbridge Athletic Club.		
1914	Cowbridge Cricketers play a full part in The Great War, sadly loosing Frank Dunn, J C R Dunn and A Gibbs, killed in action.		
1915	Ground purchased for \$700 from Mr Ebsworth.		
1919	I Pell, (Yorkshire) appointed professional		
1919	Harry Edwards becomes professional		
1924	L J Llewellyn takes all ten wickets v Llandaff		
1924	Cowbridge 1st XI fields three test cricketers, J C Clay, M J Turnbull		
1920	and CF Walters		
1927	Guy Day succeeds Harry Edwards as professional		
1930	J C Clay 9/39 v Barry		
1931	D R Jardine makes an appearance v Pontardawe and scores all 26 runs in a last wicket partnership		
	Glamorgan play Essex & Northamptonshire at Cowbridge		
1932	Ted Lewis 9/10 v Burnham		
	Glamorgan play Somerset & Leicestershire at Cowbridge		
1933	2nds score 339-5 v Porthcawl		
1934	J C Clay 9/42 v Pontypridd		
1937	Llantwit Major all out 10, Neil Brown taking 8/0		
	Neil Brown takes 124 Wts (Av 8.88) season		
1947	Neil Brown & Aubrey Edwards add 251 for 3rd Wkt v Cardiff		
1953	Cowbridge & District XI entertain Pakistan Eaglets. Drawn		
1957	Cardiff YMCA 13 All out		
1959	Doug Davies takes 9/20 v Bridgend		
1968	Cowbridge Opt not to join Welsh Club Conference necessitating fixtures in West of England.		
1970	Join Welsh Club Cricket Conference. League Cricket commences.		
	2nd XI Conference Champions		
1971	1st XI Conference Champions		

1st XI Conference Champions		
1st XI Joint Champions		
D J Bevan takes 9/14 v Tondu		
2nd XI Conference Champions		
Join Cardiff & S E Wales (Sunday) Cricket League - first of two seasons		
Mark White scores 1388 (Av 39.65) in season		
John Morgan (Downside) 135 on debut v S.W.H.		
Inaugural '1840' cup match v Bridgend		
Win '1840' cup for fist time		
Club resigns from Glamorgan and Gwent Conference		
Join South Wales Cricket Association. 2nds Div 5 Champions. Steve Leeke scores 153 v Ystalyfera 2nds		
SWCA 5th Div Champions, 2nds Div 5 Champions		
SWCA Div 4 Champions. Covers purchased.		
John Tierney scores 144 v Hirwaun in successful run chase		
2nds SWCA Div 3 Champions		
1st XI fail to gain promotion to SWCA Div 2 by two points		
Cowbridge retain '1840' cup for first time.		
Scorebox built. 1st XI unbeaten and win Div. 3 Championship 3rd XI win 2nd Div. and gain promotion to 1st Div. West Wales		
Cricket Association. Paul Hardwick scores record 157.		

1

First Class Cricketers Who have appeared for Cowbridge

		Season(s)
	D J Walker (Otago)	1993
* +	D R Jardine (Surrey)	1931
* +	C Walters (Glam & Worcs)	1920's
*	J C Clay	1928 - 1952
	H Morris	1978 - 1984
	V G J Jenkins	1930's
	L E W Williams	1920 - 1949
	M Frost	1992
	K J Lyons	1976
	A M E Edwards	1950's
* +	A R Lewis	1972
*	M J Turnbull	1920's
	T H Gange (Glam & Gloucs)	1912
	FW Geary	1923
	T Powell	1976
	A H Wilkins	1989 - 1990
	J A Davies	1951 - 1980
